Learn all about cloth diapers from our How Tos and FAQs page, Diaper Dictionary, product reviews, Diaper Directory and more!

directory   product reviews   sales and announcements   forums   advertising   contact us

 

sustainablebabyish Wool Cover

 
  Category:  Covers : Wool Covers

Rating:     4.18
Number of ratings:  17

Average Price:  $ 47.64
 

Share  - Share this product on Facebook.

Those who rated this product also rated the following products:

     sustainablebabyish organic bamboo fleece fitteds (10)
     sustainablebabyish snapless-multi (10)
     Bottombumpers Side Snapping AIO Diaper (5)
     Cloth-eez® Workhorse™ Diapers (5)
     CJ's BUTTer (5)

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
Ratings Comments
jmsanko

Overall: 3
Price: $42

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2012. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 5/25/2013

PROS:
1. Works great as a nighttime solution paired with an obf
2. Wait for a sale- they used to have 10-15% off sales regularly which helps with the steeper price tag- now the discounts are harder to come by but still happen.

CONS:
1. They are delicate- require more TLC (handwashing and lanolizing)
2. There can be 'natural variance' in the sizing between batches.
3. Preorders are often late.

Purchased at: sloomb

najor

Overall: 5
Price: $42.95

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 2/3/2013

I LOVE these covers. I have not tried other wool covers, and I don't think I every will because I love these so much. So soft, so absorbent, so easy to care for. It took me a little while to figure out how to keep them lanolized properly, but it is actually really easy! After doing the regular lanolin wash process, I simply rub a little solid lanolin onto the cover (both inside and out) every night before I put them on my son for the first week or so. After that, I just reapply a little lanolin once a week or so. I now only have to wash them when they get dirty or just because I feel guilty for not washing them in so long (I've gone 3 months between washes with 4 covers in rotation!).

Purchased at: Sweetbottoms Baby Boutique

jmjsmom4

Overall: 4
Price: $65

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/1012. Used this item for 8 months. Date Posted: 9/26/2012

I love these wool covers. They are soft, absorbent, and come in great colors. Recently they do have a tendency to fall apart for no reason. Many customers including myself have had problems with the wool coming apart at the seams. Also, inconsistencies in sizing are very common. I have had m/l longies that range anywhere from 10-12 inches long.

Purchased at: Sloomb

aurelia615

Overall: 3
Price: $42

Condition: New

Purchased in 4/2012. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 8/9/2012

I've tried many different brands of wool diaper covers and while I find Sloomb (Sustainablebabyish) brand covers to be of the highest quality, I rated this product three stars because the customer service of this company is abhorrent. If you buy Sustainablebabyish products, try to find them from an outside retailer (Kelly's Closet, Weedle Weedle, Sew Crafty, etc)

Purchased at: sloomb.com

RubyMom7

Overall: 5
Price: $42

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2011. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 5/10/2012

We absolutely love this Peacoat cover! It is beautiful and squishy soft and we never have any leaks!I was so intimidated by wool care and it has been incredibly easy to wash and lanolize; as needed. We use this cover with Sustainablebabyish snapless fitteds for a bulletproof night time solution for our 22 month old son. Cover is very durable. My son lives in his Sustainablebabyish wool and it's practically indestructible. Customer Service from Thanks Mama was great. Fast and free shipping from this Amazon store.

Purchased at: Thanks Mama

Kblack06

Overall: 5
Price: $40

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2011. Used this item for 15 months. Date Posted: 5/2/2012

I have been cd'ing for almost 3 years now and discovered Sustainablebabyish about a year and a half into it and never looked back. I had never owned a piece of wool and thought the concept seemed utterly silly, but, to my delight, Sbish wool covers have been the solution to my heavy wetting children's needs! You have to lanolize heavily the first time or two, but it is worth every second of drying time to know that my kids get to wear an all natural, breatheable, comfy, cozy, bulletproof and BEAUTIFUL diaper cover all day long and to bed each night. I will continue to recommend these cover and longies to each new cd'ing mama I meet long after my kids are out of diapers!

Purchased at: Sloomb

hebeos

Overall: 5
Price: $26

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2011. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 5/1/2012

Having cloth diapered my first daughter, I wanted to try wool for the first time when I found out I was pregnant with my second baby. With a few recommendations, I purchased a few wool covers with about a month before my due date, prepping only one each of the extra small and small sizes. Prepping was far easier than I thought it would be (great for a wool noob who, admittedly, was a bit concerned about the whole process) and I waited for baby. When she got here, two things happened. First, she turned out to be a super soaker. I mean, people often say that about their babies, but she would soak through diapers in half the time it would take her older sister who was 2 years older. At night, a fitted paired with a wool was pretty bulletproof. Even more so if I used a hemp doubler on the outside of the fitted. Second, my tiny baby grew really, really, really fast. Like, a pound a week average for the first 9 weeks. So the covers I bought early on she quickly outgrew. But that's not normal. I just wish I had known that so I could have skipped the tiny sizes. These covers are also so, so, so soft and relatively thin compared to other wool covers I've tried. I definitely recommend these to anyone looking to try wool out!

Purchased at: Franklin Goose

leighannelese

Overall: 3
Price: $45

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2012. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 3/26/2012

I was SOOO anxious to try this wool soaker. I literally waited for months for one to become available in my daughter's size from a site that I purchase from often. I also purchased 3 sbish fitteds, wanting to use the fitted/soaker combination for night time. I am currently cloth-diaper baby #2.. and I feel like I have tried EVERYTHING at night during my stint of diapering with both kids and NOTHING has provided both a leak-free AND stink-free, rash-free night. I have found things that work without leaking but they have caused what I call ""ammonia burn"" on my kids' tushies by morning. Needless to say, I was stoked to try this ""magic"" diapering system. The fitteds are absolutely insane. Especially after a few washes (on top of the initial prep washes), my daughter can pee all night long and she still hasn't soaked the diaper by morning and she isn't super-stinky either. Also.. no ""ammonia burn"". :) The wool soaker, however, I have not been as happy with. I am still trying to justify the money spent by assuming that I am still learning how to use it.. but this isn't my first go at wool and I have followed all direction to a T. DD is waking up wet by 2 am half of the time that I am putting it on her. Right now, I am pairing her sbish fitteds with some PUL covers and am getting satisfactory results. Still trying to figure this wool out, I guess

Zoobies

Overall: 3
Price: $65

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2011. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/13/2012

I ordered a pair of ML wool longies, as I already owned a pair of size L, which were too big for my son. The new longies arrived two months later than expected, over three months after I ordered and paid for them. While I was waiting, it was extremely difficult to get information about when to expect my order. Repeated emails to the company went unanswered. When the pants finally arrived, the sizing was not as expected, they should have been one size smaller than my previously purchased size L, but looked to be 2-3 sizes smaller. The pants did not fit my son. The company's response to the sizing inconsistency was that it is ""to be expected"" and that it was consistent with their size chart. My previous purchase was not consistent with the size chart, so I (wrongly) assumed that if my size L was too big, I should order one size smaller. I was not offered a refund. I was disappointed with the customer service

Purchased at: sloomb.com

bree

Overall: 5
Price: $42

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2011. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2012

LOVE how squishy soft and bulletproof this cover is! The only downside is the drying time, but it's worth it, imo!

Purchased at: Thanks Mama

Tracy_S

Overall: 5
Price: $43

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/12. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2012

I got caught up by the hype on this one, but I haven't been disappointed. Bulletproof for leaks and the wool is so soft and nice. I use mine for naps (we don't use cloth overnight), but it has worked very well. Great colours. It did take a very long time to dry (like 3 days+). It was my Christmas splurge present for my son. (Okay, it was really for me...)

Purchased at: Little Monkey Store (Langley, BC)

coloradomonkees4

Overall: 2
Price: $65

Condition: New

Purchased in 10/2011. Used this item for 5 months. Date Posted: 2/29/2012

Required more lanolizing than any other wool I have used for it to be ""bulletproof"". They are thick, we wouldn't be able to use these year round. Though, they do have shorties and covers that we could use but these are promoted as year round wear. Sizing is inconsistent, so getting a pair that fit right isn't an easy task since each batch runs longer/shorter than previous and there is no announcement or notification on their site about it. Absolutely beautiful colors, but I'd sacrifice on color for better sizing and fit

Purchased at: Sustainablebabyish/Sloomb

rustygriffen

Overall: 5
Price: $45

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/11. Used this item for 10 months. Date Posted: 11/27/2011

I can't say enough positive things about this product line. I have both the knit longies and soakers. These diapers are ridiculously soft, extremely bullet proof, and work well no matter the weather as far as breathability goes. The biggest downfall is the thickness, but there are ways around it.

1. lanolizing- soak diaper in lanoline bath for 30minutes right side out then trun inside out and repeat.

2. Dry time- I place mine over a rack with a fan blowing on them, they dry much fast without damage to the wool.

The other drawback is price, but this is counteracted by the fact that the average skein of wools is pricey on it's own, approximately 12-20 dollars. It's also voided by the fact that the fit and quality of SBish is unmatched by any other producer of wool diaper covers on the market

Purchased at: sustainablybabyish/spots

zoobabes

Overall: 5
Price: $42

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2010. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 10/25/2011

I just wanted to update my review today since I have used both the Sbish covers and longies for a year now. These are still my favorite wool covers. In my original review, I had stated that I didn't think that SBish knits would be a good year round solution. Boy was I WRONG! That is because I hadn't tried a wool cover yet. These things are amazing, short or long, winter or summer. Super soft, super absorbent, never a leak, beautifully made, beautful colors! My only complaints are: 1)the dry time; 2) they can be hard to find at times; and 3)that I don't have enough money to buy one in every color, shape and size! Fabulous customer service too!

Purchased at: Sloomb/Sustainablebabyish

hibiscus896

Overall: 3
Price: $66

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 9/20/2011

I like this cover but it's not my favorite, the reason being that I had to wash and lanolize it 6 times before it was water resistant. Also because it is quite thick it takes a LONG time to dry. The karate style pants look ADORABLE on my baby but I don't think I'd buy more. I'd prefer wool longies that aren't so thick so they dry a little faster

Purchased at: Apple Green Baby

clothmommytellsall

Overall: 5
Price: $54

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/11. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 9/13/2011

I love Sloomb longies and shorties. They are so soft and squishy. They are the best for overnights and great to use all day long. I have never had a product from Sloomb that I didn't like

Purchased at: Sustainablebabyish/Sloomb

MountainNat

Overall: 5
Price: $42.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2011. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 9/12/2011

I love Sloomb wool! It is super cute on my NB and hasn't leaked for us yet. The lanolizing instructions on their website made my first wool experience really easy.

Purchased at: Sloomb


Do you sell this product? Add the "Review this Product" button to your site.

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
how tos and faqs  cloth diaper calculator  due date calculator  directory  product reviews  behind the diapers  sales and announcements  forums  home 
privacy  policy-reviews  forum posting policy  advertising  contact diaper pin about us link to us  links  site map 

Web Hosting By Arvixe



Copyright © 2000-2014, Diaper Pin. All Rights Reserved.