Learn all about cloth diapers from our How Tos and FAQs page, Diaper Dictionary, product reviews, Diaper Directory and more!

directory   product reviews   sales and announcements   forums   advertising   contact us

 

bumGenius™ One-Size Pocket Diaper

Made by: Cotton Babies
 
  Category:  Cloth Diapers : One Size Pockets

Rating:     4.16
Number of ratings:  136

Average Price:  $ 16.4
 

Share  - Share this product on Facebook.

Those who rated this product also rated the following products:

     FuzziBunz® Perfect Size Diapers (142)
     Happy Heiny's® Pocket Style AIO (85)
     Thirsties® Diaper Cover (82)
     Bummis® Super Whisper Wrap (68)
     Happy Heiny's® One Size Pocket Diaper (64)


More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
Ratings Comments
judesmomma

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: Used

Purchased in /2013. Used this item for 9 months. Date Posted: 12/11/2013

I love this diaper! I have used the velcro and the snaps but I prefer the snaps! They fit my 8lb baby on the smallest setting and my 25lb toddler so this really is a great OS diapering option. The inserts they come with hold quite a bit of urine but I do recommend using the newborn insert as a doubler for older babies as night. Great quality! Great diaper! This is a very good option for babies who struggle with sensitivity to wet cloth. My son did and when we switched him to all Bumgenius diapers the rashes stopped. They really do wick away moisture.

hanmarie87

Overall: 4
Price: $10

Condition: Used

Purchased in 9/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 10/3/2013

I am really enjoying the bumGenius 4.0 diapers. The fit very well and haven't bothered my daughter at all. I have majority snaps, but a couple velcro as well. Don't really have a preference on that. I like that they have refresher kits, so that the diaper can last longer. The reason I gave this item a 4 is because the inserts included are not as absorbent as I would like. I am using both inserts for my 2 month old (I will say she is a heavy wetter). I may look into different insert options to keep the diaper from having to be so bulky.

Purchased at: eBay gently used

azimmer

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: Used

Purchased in 6/2012. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 8/4/2013

These are my favorite diapers! I was pretty leery about purchasing used but they are still great. They apparently came from a family who used them for 2+ kids and they are still leak proof and all snaps are in great condition. I've replaced elastics, which is only realistic with the amount of wear they've had... and they were easy to replace.

I highly recommend the snaps over velcro as our little guy will take the velcro ones off during naps. :) ... plus our velcro is getting worn out.

These diapers are WORTH THE MONEY! They are the only brand I will re-purchase.

Purchased at: Garage Sales

Alice chopra

Overall:
Price: $

Condition:

Purchased in 8/2013. Used this item for 10 months. Date Posted: 7/22/2013

Hello, it’s nice to read your Forum. I really like your article. I am agree with your all statements because I read [url=http://jaredandkristen.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/the-honest-diapers-bundle-review/]Honest diaper reviews[/url] before buying Honest products for my baby and now I think it is best product company. Now I always use Honest products for my baby after visited this website.

nix2mama

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 4/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 4/11/2013

We use flip covers with cotton prefold inserts in the day and I was tired of multiple changes at night and worrying about the dampness causing rashes. I have tried this now a few times and LOVE them for overnight use. They would be bulky for daytime use I think.

Purchased at: Simple Cloth

laurastargirl

Overall: 5
Price: $18.5

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2013

This was my first experience with pocket diapers and I loved it! Great absorbency, fits amazingly, GREAT customer service from Caterpillar Baby. I will definitely be purchasing more. Thanks!

Purchased at: Caterpillar Baby

jackalopekat

Overall: 3
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in 10/2012. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 1/27/2013

The 4.0 has an unnecessary and easily fixable design flaw - the BG brand tag wicks. I love this diaper for daytime use, but I'm only giving it a 3.0. I would give this product a 5.0 if the BG brand tag on the front flap of the diaper did not wick moisture overnight. There are a few discussions on the internet that say wicking indicates you need to add more absorption. Fair enough, but I feel that if this tag was stitched in a way that doesn't allow it to wick (not have the tag touch the inside of the pocket), it would take a lot more pee before it leaked out of the sides. I've solved the problem by using Disana wool leggings over her 4.0s - but this shouldn't be necessary. So easily fixed if Cotton Babies would just find another way to stitch on the tag

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

Jmbb77

Overall: 5
Price: $19

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 1/25/2013

I love this diaper. It is very trim yet super absorbent. My LO is not a heavy wetter but chunky and I have never had a leak. I bought it during a Black Friday sale. I wish I would have bought a few more!

Purchased at: Diaper Junction

BrooklynTN

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 1/24/2013

These diapers fit great, never leak, and hold up well! I used the 3.0s on my first child, and now the 4.0s on my 2nd and 3rd children. Great diaper!

Purchased at: Diaper Safari

leimchugh

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2011. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 12/18/2012

Definitely my favorite. It fits so well at every size and holds up well. Will always be my favorite and most recommended diaper. I have tried most of the popular pockets and AIOs, and while I like a few others, this will remain my go to diaper that makes up most of my stash.

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

JennyA

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 11/4/2012

The BG 4.0 is an amazing pocket diaper. The features are excellent and the quality is superb! I highly recommend this diaper

oneluckymama

Overall: 4
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 10/30/2012

The bumGenius 4.0 is a little bulky on a newborn, but we used them from about 6 pounds with my daughter and a skinny 9 pounds with my nephew on up to about 32 pounds. My daughter is tall for her age, so she had to be upsized to a larger diaper 2 1/2 but that was true of all one size diapers. I prefer a little bulk in the early days to the risk of outgrowing the diaper far too soon.

Diapers that fit trimly on a tiny baby will almost certainly be too small for an average or bigger toddler. The length of the rise and the width of the 4.0 make this a diaper that will last most babies til pottytraining even if it did not quite make it there for my daughter (she trained just after her 3rd birthday).

Overall the fit is good for most babies and was good for my daughter. It is not the trimmest diaper on the market, but super trim diapers tended to leak for my heavy-wetter. We needed a diaper that was wide enough in the crotch to hold in pee so it could absorb. This is a great work-horse diaper and I do not hesitate to recommend it to most families. I have tried over 100 different cloth diapers and this is clearly a top 10 for us. I was pretty harsh in my review of the 3.0, but the 4.0 has several improvements.

One improvement is that you can easily remove and replace the elastic if it should ever go bad. Elastic is the weak point in almost any diaper, and the 4.0 makes it easy to change if it should ever go bad. I also like the 1 year warranty.

I also liked that I could stuff this diaper as full as needed for my little Niagara Falls to sleep in. We used two microfiber and one hemp insert.

Microfiber can stink, but honestly the only time we ever had a problem is if we were using a detergent that could not handle our super-hard well water. After 7 years in this business I am of the opinion that when microfiber stinks it is a washing issue. When our diapers were getting clean, we did not have odor issues from any material including

Purchased at: One Lucky Mama

cathplyr

Overall: 3
Price: $12

Condition: New

Purchased in 12/2011. Used this item for 5 months. Date Posted: 9/23/2012

quality made and the suede is a very nice features others dont have. The microfiber inserts are very very stinky. its just hard to keep them clean and stink-free. very high maintenace unlike cotton. I sold them b/c they started becomming pilly and I hadnt used them that long. I wasnt crazy about them and wanted to get my money back before they got worse. I kept 3 b/c the prints were so lovely but the elastic was shot in no time. The are still useable but only with a trim insert. The fit is not great around chubby legs and it will gap at the waist. on the plus- they were sooo easy to sell. I bought them b2g1 and I got all my money back. so if your on the fence try them

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

jcoleregis

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2012. Used this item for 15 months. Date Posted: 9/3/2012

These are our go-to diapers! Hubby likes them, my other family members like them, and daycare too! I bought more for Daycare so I'd have enough in rotation between washes. I love that you can stuff them with whatever you want, the snaps are durable, and they fit our LO well!

Purchased at: Kissed by the Moon

kaptain

Overall: 5
Price: $16.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 8/25/2012

Bumgenius 4.0 one-size is our favourite diaper - our other diapers are pockets from Sew Is Your Baby and TotBots EasyFit. Only leaks when we have our son cuddling with us on his side (leaks out the leg gussets..but then so did disposables, which leaked and blew-out for us in a lot of other situations as well). We have both snaps and velcro and like them equally. It is certainly a bulky diaper on a young baby but I've got used to it and it's not too bad now, partly because I find the big tushy to be totally adorable on my baby. I like the bright colours it comes in, although I would love some cute prints as well

Purchased at: Cozy Bums

thirdtimemomma

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 6/9/2012

I have had every single version of these diapers since they came out. At first I really loved the nylon cover but the velcro wore out fast! Then they improved it with every new version. And now I can say I love the new 4.0. The velcro quality is much improved, the PUL is very high quality, I love the newest version of SC and the colors are classic. This is definitely a work horse diaper. The 3.0s I've had the longest and have lasted (with replaced velcro for snaps) through my high temp washing and drying, bleaching and Tide use and are still going strong. Great diaper!

emiliesmama

Overall: 5
Price: $22.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2011. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 4/23/2012

I love this diaper! After a lot of research while I was pregnant I bought a couple of BumGenius 4.0's to try. They quickly became a favourite of my husband, myself and my mother who cares for our daughter while we are at work. They are soft, trim, very absorbent, and very cute. The only times we have had an issue with microfibre stink is when we had some build up issues because of our hard water. We changed detergents, and voila, problem gone! These diapers make up 75% of our diaper stash.
The only negative thing I can say about these diapers are that the aplix closures do not wear very well. We have three diapers with aplix closure, and they look horrible after over a year of wear. The aplix if frayed, curled, and they do not stay attached to the laundry tabs in the wash. The snap diapers on the other hand? Not a problem, they look great

Purchased at: The Cloth Diaper Shop

aimeemarie83

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition:

Purchased in /. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 4/19/2012

Great diapers. When anyone is interested about cloth I always tell them this is where to start! These are always a staple in my stash! Just wish they would give other options then microfiber which can be stinky!

fireflies77

Overall: 4
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/27/2012

These are great diapers. They are super easy to use and I like that they come with both newborn and regular size inserts. The only problem is when I use the newborn inserts (my little man is only 2 months), they leak, so I have I have to use the regular size inserts which makes the already bulky diaper even bulkier!

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

keepitsimple

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/9. Used this item for 36 months. Date Posted: 3/14/2012

Overall I really like the BG 3.0 It holds up to its reputation pretty well. Fit is excellent. It does a great job with containment and soaking up plenty of wet. Over the 3 years and 2 babies I have used them on they have held up and are still going strong. No elastic issues or velcro issues even though I bleach and sun pretty frequently.

Getting the insert removed cleanly an be problematic if the solids have been squished up the back since there is a flap in the inside rear of the dipe that needs to be lifted in order to remove the insert. As with all microfiber inserts they can start to get the microfiber stink, but I have learned that MF should actually be washed separately from cotton because the cotton fibers clog up the MF ""pores""

Purchased at: Sweet Baby Camo Boutique

littlehands

Overall: 4
Price: $12

Condition: Used

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 3/14/2012

Bumgenius is a solid and reliable diaper. I can use it as a night diaper for my average wetter when I don't get to diaper laundry on schedule. The PUL wears well and the insert is absorbent. However, the Aplix is weak and wears out much quicker than the rest of the diaper. I like the fit better with Aplix, but this is one diaper that I prefer in snaps, for that reason

Purchased at: Used

mommy2five0406070911

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2012

My first ever cloth purchase was a 3.0 bumGenius and it was awesome. I was amazed by the fit and absorbency. I now have 4.0's and the love is still strong. If you need an overnight diaper this is it. No leaks at all with these and the stay dry is great. This diaper allows my little one to sleep a longer stretch at night

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

NY2FLMOM

Overall: 4
Price: $16.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 2/9/2012

I'm posting an update of my review from August, 2010. I've been using my BGs 3.0s for 12 months now, washing nearly everyday, and they have held up great i n my few years' old HE front loaders. I use BumGenius detergent or tiny bubbles. For those of you who are expecting and aren't sure what to buy, I strongly recommend BG AIO pocket diapers. As your baby grows and changes, you will be able to ""customize"" your absorbency. I have protected my cloth diapers by switching to disposables during times of rash or sickness or rotovirus vaccines. So, this means that my diapers have had little exposure to ointments/creams. I have used butt paste, but I always put down a fleece liner. I wash the liners with the diapers and I've had no repellency issues. Snaps wash better, but it nice to use super fast aplix on a squirmy baby. Rewashing nd adding a little bleach have solve any stink issues (which have been rare). My Aplix still work pretty well, though visually they look a little frayed. Snaps are hard for this of use with arthritis, especially Grandma's hands. If I did all over again I think I get 1/3 aplix and 2/3 snaps

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

jlw1980

Overall: 4
Price: $16

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2011. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 1/29/2012

These are my nighttime diapers! We just don't have leaks unless they're on for more than about 10 hours! The only negative is the bulkiness. Love them, though

Purchased at: Kelly's Closet


Do you sell this product? Add the "Review this Product" button to your site.

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
how tos and faqs  cloth diaper calculator  due date calculator  directory  product reviews  behind the diapers  sales and announcements  forums  home 
privacy  policy-reviews  forum posting policy  advertising  contact diaper pin about us link to us  links  site map 

Web Hosting By Arvixe



Copyright © 2000-2014, Diaper Pin. All Rights Reserved.