Learn all about cloth diapers from our How Tos and FAQs page, Diaper Dictionary, product reviews, Diaper Directory and more!

directory   product reviews   sales and announcements   forums   advertising   contact us

 

bumGenius™ One-Size Pocket Diaper

Made by: Cotton Babies
 
  Category:  Cloth Diapers : One Size Pockets

Rating:     4.33
Number of ratings:  37

Average Price:  $ 16.76
 

Share  - Share this product on Facebook.

Those who rated this product also rated the following products:

     FuzziBunz® Perfect Size Diapers (142)
     Happy Heiny's® Pocket Style AIO (85)
     Thirsties® Diaper Cover (82)
     Bummis® Super Whisper Wrap (68)
     Happy Heiny's® One Size Pocket Diaper (64)


More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
Ratings Comments
judesmomma

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: Used

Purchased in /2013. Used this item for 9 months. Date Posted: 12/11/2013

I love this diaper! I have used the velcro and the snaps but I prefer the snaps! They fit my 8lb baby on the smallest setting and my 25lb toddler so this really is a great OS diapering option. The inserts they come with hold quite a bit of urine but I do recommend using the newborn insert as a doubler for older babies as night. Great quality! Great diaper! This is a very good option for babies who struggle with sensitivity to wet cloth. My son did and when we switched him to all Bumgenius diapers the rashes stopped. They really do wick away moisture.

hanmarie87

Overall: 4
Price: $10

Condition: Used

Purchased in 9/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 10/3/2013

I am really enjoying the bumGenius 4.0 diapers. The fit very well and haven't bothered my daughter at all. I have majority snaps, but a couple velcro as well. Don't really have a preference on that. I like that they have refresher kits, so that the diaper can last longer. The reason I gave this item a 4 is because the inserts included are not as absorbent as I would like. I am using both inserts for my 2 month old (I will say she is a heavy wetter). I may look into different insert options to keep the diaper from having to be so bulky.

Purchased at: eBay gently used

azimmer

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: Used

Purchased in 6/2012. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 8/4/2013

These are my favorite diapers! I was pretty leery about purchasing used but they are still great. They apparently came from a family who used them for 2+ kids and they are still leak proof and all snaps are in great condition. I've replaced elastics, which is only realistic with the amount of wear they've had... and they were easy to replace.

I highly recommend the snaps over velcro as our little guy will take the velcro ones off during naps. :) ... plus our velcro is getting worn out.

These diapers are WORTH THE MONEY! They are the only brand I will re-purchase.

Purchased at: Garage Sales

Alice chopra

Overall:
Price: $

Condition:

Purchased in 8/2013. Used this item for 10 months. Date Posted: 7/22/2013

Hello, it’s nice to read your Forum. I really like your article. I am agree with your all statements because I read [url=http://jaredandkristen.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/the-honest-diapers-bundle-review/]Honest diaper reviews[/url] before buying Honest products for my baby and now I think it is best product company. Now I always use Honest products for my baby after visited this website.

nix2mama

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 4/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 4/11/2013

We use flip covers with cotton prefold inserts in the day and I was tired of multiple changes at night and worrying about the dampness causing rashes. I have tried this now a few times and LOVE them for overnight use. They would be bulky for daytime use I think.

Purchased at: Simple Cloth

laurastargirl

Overall: 5
Price: $18.5

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2013. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2013

This was my first experience with pocket diapers and I loved it! Great absorbency, fits amazingly, GREAT customer service from Caterpillar Baby. I will definitely be purchasing more. Thanks!

Purchased at: Caterpillar Baby

jackalopekat

Overall: 3
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in 10/2012. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 1/27/2013

The 4.0 has an unnecessary and easily fixable design flaw - the BG brand tag wicks. I love this diaper for daytime use, but I'm only giving it a 3.0. I would give this product a 5.0 if the BG brand tag on the front flap of the diaper did not wick moisture overnight. There are a few discussions on the internet that say wicking indicates you need to add more absorption. Fair enough, but I feel that if this tag was stitched in a way that doesn't allow it to wick (not have the tag touch the inside of the pocket), it would take a lot more pee before it leaked out of the sides. I've solved the problem by using Disana wool leggings over her 4.0s - but this shouldn't be necessary. So easily fixed if Cotton Babies would just find another way to stitch on the tag

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

Jmbb77

Overall: 5
Price: $19

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 1/25/2013

I love this diaper. It is very trim yet super absorbent. My LO is not a heavy wetter but chunky and I have never had a leak. I bought it during a Black Friday sale. I wish I would have bought a few more!

Purchased at: Diaper Junction

BrooklynTN

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 1/24/2013

These diapers fit great, never leak, and hold up well! I used the 3.0s on my first child, and now the 4.0s on my 2nd and 3rd children. Great diaper!

Purchased at: Diaper Safari

leimchugh

Overall: 5
Price: $18

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2011. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 12/18/2012

Definitely my favorite. It fits so well at every size and holds up well. Will always be my favorite and most recommended diaper. I have tried most of the popular pockets and AIOs, and while I like a few others, this will remain my go to diaper that makes up most of my stash.

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

JennyA

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 14 months. Date Posted: 11/4/2012

The BG 4.0 is an amazing pocket diaper. The features are excellent and the quality is superb! I highly recommend this diaper

oneluckymama

Overall: 4
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 10/30/2012

The bumGenius 4.0 is a little bulky on a newborn, but we used them from about 6 pounds with my daughter and a skinny 9 pounds with my nephew on up to about 32 pounds. My daughter is tall for her age, so she had to be upsized to a larger diaper 2 1/2 but that was true of all one size diapers. I prefer a little bulk in the early days to the risk of outgrowing the diaper far too soon.

Diapers that fit trimly on a tiny baby will almost certainly be too small for an average or bigger toddler. The length of the rise and the width of the 4.0 make this a diaper that will last most babies til pottytraining even if it did not quite make it there for my daughter (she trained just after her 3rd birthday).

Overall the fit is good for most babies and was good for my daughter. It is not the trimmest diaper on the market, but super trim diapers tended to leak for my heavy-wetter. We needed a diaper that was wide enough in the crotch to hold in pee so it could absorb. This is a great work-horse diaper and I do not hesitate to recommend it to most families. I have tried over 100 different cloth diapers and this is clearly a top 10 for us. I was pretty harsh in my review of the 3.0, but the 4.0 has several improvements.

One improvement is that you can easily remove and replace the elastic if it should ever go bad. Elastic is the weak point in almost any diaper, and the 4.0 makes it easy to change if it should ever go bad. I also like the 1 year warranty.

I also liked that I could stuff this diaper as full as needed for my little Niagara Falls to sleep in. We used two microfiber and one hemp insert.

Microfiber can stink, but honestly the only time we ever had a problem is if we were using a detergent that could not handle our super-hard well water. After 7 years in this business I am of the opinion that when microfiber stinks it is a washing issue. When our diapers were getting clean, we did not have odor issues from any material including

Purchased at: One Lucky Mama

cathplyr

Overall: 3
Price: $12

Condition: New

Purchased in 12/2011. Used this item for 5 months. Date Posted: 9/23/2012

quality made and the suede is a very nice features others dont have. The microfiber inserts are very very stinky. its just hard to keep them clean and stink-free. very high maintenace unlike cotton. I sold them b/c they started becomming pilly and I hadnt used them that long. I wasnt crazy about them and wanted to get my money back before they got worse. I kept 3 b/c the prints were so lovely but the elastic was shot in no time. The are still useable but only with a trim insert. The fit is not great around chubby legs and it will gap at the waist. on the plus- they were sooo easy to sell. I bought them b2g1 and I got all my money back. so if your on the fence try them

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

jcoleregis

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2012. Used this item for 15 months. Date Posted: 9/3/2012

These are our go-to diapers! Hubby likes them, my other family members like them, and daycare too! I bought more for Daycare so I'd have enough in rotation between washes. I love that you can stuff them with whatever you want, the snaps are durable, and they fit our LO well!

Purchased at: Kissed by the Moon

kaptain

Overall: 5
Price: $16.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 8/25/2012

Bumgenius 4.0 one-size is our favourite diaper - our other diapers are pockets from Sew Is Your Baby and TotBots EasyFit. Only leaks when we have our son cuddling with us on his side (leaks out the leg gussets..but then so did disposables, which leaked and blew-out for us in a lot of other situations as well). We have both snaps and velcro and like them equally. It is certainly a bulky diaper on a young baby but I've got used to it and it's not too bad now, partly because I find the big tushy to be totally adorable on my baby. I like the bright colours it comes in, although I would love some cute prints as well

Purchased at: Cozy Bums

thirdtimemomma

Overall: 5
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 6/9/2012

I have had every single version of these diapers since they came out. At first I really loved the nylon cover but the velcro wore out fast! Then they improved it with every new version. And now I can say I love the new 4.0. The velcro quality is much improved, the PUL is very high quality, I love the newest version of SC and the colors are classic. This is definitely a work horse diaper. The 3.0s I've had the longest and have lasted (with replaced velcro for snaps) through my high temp washing and drying, bleaching and Tide use and are still going strong. Great diaper!

emiliesmama

Overall: 5
Price: $22.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 3/2011. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 4/23/2012

I love this diaper! After a lot of research while I was pregnant I bought a couple of BumGenius 4.0's to try. They quickly became a favourite of my husband, myself and my mother who cares for our daughter while we are at work. They are soft, trim, very absorbent, and very cute. The only times we have had an issue with microfibre stink is when we had some build up issues because of our hard water. We changed detergents, and voila, problem gone! These diapers make up 75% of our diaper stash.
The only negative thing I can say about these diapers are that the aplix closures do not wear very well. We have three diapers with aplix closure, and they look horrible after over a year of wear. The aplix if frayed, curled, and they do not stay attached to the laundry tabs in the wash. The snap diapers on the other hand? Not a problem, they look great

Purchased at: The Cloth Diaper Shop

aimeemarie83

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition:

Purchased in /. Used this item for months. Date Posted: 4/19/2012

Great diapers. When anyone is interested about cloth I always tell them this is where to start! These are always a staple in my stash! Just wish they would give other options then microfiber which can be stinky!

fireflies77

Overall: 4
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 1/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/27/2012

These are great diapers. They are super easy to use and I like that they come with both newborn and regular size inserts. The only problem is when I use the newborn inserts (my little man is only 2 months), they leak, so I have I have to use the regular size inserts which makes the already bulky diaper even bulkier!

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

keepitsimple

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/9. Used this item for 36 months. Date Posted: 3/14/2012

Overall I really like the BG 3.0 It holds up to its reputation pretty well. Fit is excellent. It does a great job with containment and soaking up plenty of wet. Over the 3 years and 2 babies I have used them on they have held up and are still going strong. No elastic issues or velcro issues even though I bleach and sun pretty frequently.

Getting the insert removed cleanly an be problematic if the solids have been squished up the back since there is a flap in the inside rear of the dipe that needs to be lifted in order to remove the insert. As with all microfiber inserts they can start to get the microfiber stink, but I have learned that MF should actually be washed separately from cotton because the cotton fibers clog up the MF ""pores""

Purchased at: Sweet Baby Camo Boutique

littlehands

Overall: 4
Price: $12

Condition: Used

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 3/14/2012

Bumgenius is a solid and reliable diaper. I can use it as a night diaper for my average wetter when I don't get to diaper laundry on schedule. The PUL wears well and the insert is absorbent. However, the Aplix is weak and wears out much quicker than the rest of the diaper. I like the fit better with Aplix, but this is one diaper that I prefer in snaps, for that reason

Purchased at: Used

mommy2five0406070911

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 3/7/2012

My first ever cloth purchase was a 3.0 bumGenius and it was awesome. I was amazed by the fit and absorbency. I now have 4.0's and the love is still strong. If you need an overnight diaper this is it. No leaks at all with these and the stay dry is great. This diaper allows my little one to sleep a longer stretch at night

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

NY2FLMOM

Overall: 4
Price: $16.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 6/2010. Used this item for 12 months. Date Posted: 2/9/2012

I'm posting an update of my review from August, 2010. I've been using my BGs 3.0s for 12 months now, washing nearly everyday, and they have held up great i n my few years' old HE front loaders. I use BumGenius detergent or tiny bubbles. For those of you who are expecting and aren't sure what to buy, I strongly recommend BG AIO pocket diapers. As your baby grows and changes, you will be able to ""customize"" your absorbency. I have protected my cloth diapers by switching to disposables during times of rash or sickness or rotovirus vaccines. So, this means that my diapers have had little exposure to ointments/creams. I have used butt paste, but I always put down a fleece liner. I wash the liners with the diapers and I've had no repellency issues. Snaps wash better, but it nice to use super fast aplix on a squirmy baby. Rewashing nd adding a little bleach have solve any stink issues (which have been rare). My Aplix still work pretty well, though visually they look a little frayed. Snaps are hard for this of use with arthritis, especially Grandma's hands. If I did all over again I think I get 1/3 aplix and 2/3 snaps

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

jlw1980

Overall: 4
Price: $16

Condition: New

Purchased in 11/2011. Used this item for 3 months. Date Posted: 1/29/2012

These are my nighttime diapers! We just don't have leaks unless they're on for more than about 10 hours! The only negative is the bulkiness. Love them, though

Purchased at: Kelly's Closet

girlpatten2000

Overall: 5
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in 10/2011. Used this item for 4 months. Date Posted: 1/1/2012

I got my BG4.0's on sale through cotton babies so they were a pretty good deal at $15 a piece. These diapers are solid. They look brand new after 4 months of use, the PUL is still soft, vibrant, and strechy. The strechy tabs are great. They never leak. The fit my son perfectly. My DH loves them. I've tried all of the top 20 diaperpin diapers and have these and my peachy green diapers have come out on top

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

SquashandDude

Overall: 4
Price: $

Condition: New

Purchased in 10/2012. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 12/8/2011

I highly recommend this diaper for those of you looking for a diaper to fit a tall toddler. I switched to the 4.0 version for my daughter, who generally is in the 75th or higher range for height and around the same for weight. I found that it had much comfier coverage than the earlier versions of this diaper, and the aplix was much improved as well. The new colors are adorable, and the fabric is very easy to clean. I did have to add an extra full size doubler for overnights, which made them bulky, but the standard inserts were fine for the day. I would give this product 5 stars for the toddler age group, but have to knock off one as I find it too bulky for a good leak free fit on my two month old

Purchased at: diapers.com

MilesMom

Overall: 4
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in 12/2008. Used this item for 36 months. Date Posted: 12/5/2011

Ok, I am posting an update. I am back to using my BG 4 snaps and now enjoying the experience. The fit is GREAT on my 20# 7 month old and my 30# two year old.

I resolved the horrid stink issues by washing the micro fleece inserts in 1/4 cup bleach. I now have no stink and I am very happy!

Purchased at: Nicki's Diapers

lsalmon

Overall: 5
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 7/2011. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 12/2/2011

Love these pockets, I do find that I need more absorbency then the single OS insert with the small insert, so I throw in a hemp doubler or to

Purchased at: Diaper Junction

db

Overall: 5
Price: $23

Condition: New

Purchased in 5/2011. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 11/29/2011

BG diapers were the first diapers I had in my stash, and they have proven to be the most reliable pocket diapers I have. Overall the quality is excellent, and they NEVER leak! Great for my big baby (90th percentile for weight and height) who is now almost 11 months old. Now that they are coming out with fresher, more punchy colors, I would say these are a great buy. My only issue is with the aplix (velcro). Considering the price (especially here in Canada), and in keeping with the overall great quality of the diaper, I don't think the aplix is the best- room for improvement here. I found it became quite haggard and starting to lose it's stick after 6 months, even after caring for these diapers meticulously. I would recommend going with the snaps for longevity. I do like aplix, but I don't find the BG current aplix compares to other aplix diapers on the market at present time. Overall, however, I find the quality of these diapers to be great. The rest of the diaper still looks almost brand new. I would definitely invest in these again, just the snap version at this time...until the aplix improves. I have contacted Cotton Babies regarding my purchase, and they have been very helpful so far

Purchased at: New & Green Baby Co

AndreaKim

Overall: 4
Price: $17.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 9/9. Used this item for 1 months. Date Posted: 11/7/2011

I had the bumgenius 3.0 one-size pocket diaper with aplix. The quality of this diaper is very nice - holding it in my hands, I could tell it was well-made. I found this OS pocket trimmer than most of my other ones. I had the Zinnia color and it stayed bright and vibrant the whole time I used it. I eventually converted the diaper to a snap closure and was happier with not having to deal with ""diaper chain"" and picking out fuzzies from all my velcro. We had no problems with wicking or leaking for a while but since I used my diapers hard and would have a little wicking when they got older. But even then, it would only be when the diaper was on too long. Oh! The diaper says one-size but this bumgenius 3.0 runs a little small. My DD used it on the largest setting but was only wearing Mediums in other sized diapers. The stay-dry liner inside stayed soft throughout its many months of use but it was not the softest pocket in my stash. Also, the diaper is nice and wide allowing for maximum stuffing for naps or bedtime. Some people are saying the diaper is bulky on a smaller baby, but I would only say they are bulky on a newborn. The downfall with one-size diapers is that if you truly use them from birth to potty-training, you probably won't be able to use them for another baby later on unless you have a really big stash and your diapers don't get too banged up. I got rid of all my DD1's one-size pocket diapers and started over with the next child. Oh, I forgot to add that poop came off easier on this diaper than most of my other pocket diapers.

Pros:
Beautiful vibrant colors
Available in aplix or snaps
Poop comes off easily
Lots of room for stuffing
Trim
I think baby was comfortable in it
Cute :)

Cons:
Can be bulky on a newborn
Won't fit a large toddler
May not be durable enough to last as long as it takes for baby to grow out of it (but for me, that was the case with all of my OS pockets)
aor{pa

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

hcarli

Overall: 4
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in 8/2011. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 10/26/2011

These seem to be well made. The fit it pretty good on my LO. They make up the majority of our pockets. No issues with leaking

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

BrittaniNoel

Overall: 5
Price: $6

Condition: Used

Purchased in /2010. Used this item for 19 months. Date Posted: 10/26/2011

These diapers perform almost perfectly when I wash how I'm supposed to and follow all the cloth rules, like using the proper rash ointment.

Just like any one-size diaper, they are SUPER bulky on a young baby. Other than that, they do everything that BumGenius says they'll do.

I got second hand 3.0's and have been using them for a year and a half! I've never used another type of velcro, but hook and loop definitely wears out, so I am gradually replacing mine with snaps. I have two seconds-quality snap closures and love them. My velcro is so worn out, but they stay on well if my son is wearing a waistband on his clothes :). I have to attach the tabs to the front of the diaper, because the wash tabs don't stick anymore, and the elastic has blown out on the top of the back, but we keep plugging along! They're still working great!

Purchased at: ebay

hopefulmama

Overall: 2
Price: $19

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 11 months. Date Posted: 10/7/2011

Dont see what the big attraction is. They are too bulky, the velcro is appalling, and you have to tug the wet insert out otherwise it just bunches up in the machine. We have used nappies that we like MUCH more than these. Some heavy marketing doesn't make for a great diaper, sorry!
There are much better diapers available at much more reasonable prices

Purchased at: kellys

skigolfmom

Overall: 5
Price: $17

Condition: New

Purchased in /2009. Used this item for 24 months. Date Posted: 9/14/2011

I love Bum genius they have been the easiest to use. The most absorbant and the fun colors. The only negative is the velcro tabs i would go with the snaps in the future. Love Bum genius. even hubby will use them and likes them the best he says they are closest to the disposable diapers

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

jills_mama

Overall: 5
Price: $16.95

Condition: New

Purchased in 2/2010. Used this item for 18 months. Date Posted: 9/11/2011

We love bumGenius! diapers! They fit great, don't wick (even after 12 hours overnight - wow!), are easy to use, trim, and don't leave any red marks!

I've heard that they stain for some, but we haven't had any staining. However, we use a Mini-Shower.

A note about wicking - we switched to a front loading washing machine, and switched detergents at the same time. About a week later, we experienced wicking and a lot of leaking for the first time. We finally switched back to regular Tide, and just use less for our HE washer. Since we switched back, the wicking stopped. So, if you're having any leaking, I would highly recommend switching detergents. bumGenius! diapers are the most leak-free diaper we've ever tried, hands down.

They seem to start fitting babies around 12 lbs.

We also experienced wicking when using any Free or Clear Tide Free. These diapers are the most leak-free diapers we've ever tried. But, use the wrong detergent, and the suedecloth becomes like a rubber sheet! The Free and Clear detergents also seemed to make the velcro less effective.

My husband loves them! :-)

Purchased at: Jillian's Drawers

Namastejulie

Overall: 4
Price: $16

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 2 months. Date Posted: 8/25/2011

I purchased 8 BG 4.0. Overall I like them but there are some areas that could use some tweaking. One being the laundry tab. It bothers me that my little one has a rough piece of apex rubbing agains his skin. Although it is the female side of the apex it is still rough and irritates his skin. I'm also not a huge fan of the general bulkiness. I do think however if I had gotten the snap version some of the bulkiness would be elevated. Actually it's more of a stiffness than bulk. It does however fit better than any of my other one size. Others seem to be shorter and end up pulling down in the front and ridding up in the back.

Purchased at: Cotton Babies

mynameismama

Overall: 1
Price: $15

Condition: New

Purchased in /. Used this item for 6 months. Date Posted: 8/5/2011

I purchased 30 BG 4.0 and the quality is terrible. The elastic is shot, the suedecloth has pilled all over on every diaper and it is wicking poop out of the elastic casings on the legs. The repell and I am constantly battling stink. I have only been using these for 6 months. I think they must have changed suppliers because the quality is terrible. My little boy is only 20 lbs and he is almost outgrowing them too. I called customer service and they told me to email them pictures and so I did. They emailed me back to go and file a claim on the website. I tried like 20 times and so I called. They said they were having problems with it, so then why give me the run around. Customer service is NOT helpful. Spend your money on quility diapers form a Work at home mom on Diaper sewing diavas


Do you sell this product? Add the "Review this Product" button to your site.

More reviews: Reviews from 1 year ago

 
how tos and faqs  cloth diaper calculator  due date calculator  directory  product reviews  behind the diapers  sales and announcements  forums  home 
privacy  policy-reviews  forum posting policy  advertising  contact diaper pin about us link to us  links  site map 

Web Hosting By Arvixe



Copyright © 2000-2014, Diaper Pin. All Rights Reserved.